DOCUMENTING CLIMATE CHANGE BY BIKE

Swiss citizen Florian Reber cycled 6,300 km in 71 days through the Rocky Mountains in summer 2019. He observed and documented climate change along the Continental Divide from British Columbia to New Mexico. This was his second long-distance cycling tour as part of  the “Tales of Change” project. He completed the first in 2018, crossing the Alps from east to west.

The Rocky Mountains are a unique natural spectacle. Many Americans are proud of these breathtaking places, be it the majestic glaciers or the wilderness and vast expanses of the western United States. These locations are part of national identity, history and myths. And they are heavily affected by climate change.

On the way Florian meets people who experience climate change first hand. He lets them talk about their problems, but also about their solutions. He has documented his project under the title “Tales of Change”.

CONTEMPORARY WITNESSES REPORT ON CLIMATE CHANGE

Starting in Vancouver, BC Florian followed the remote trails of the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route through Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. For 71 days on the bike, he met with First Nation guides, artists, climate and natural scientists, artists, firefighters, farmers and energy experts along the way and filmed the conversations during the interviews.

After a train ride through the USA, his last day of cycling led him along the Hudson river to arrive in New York City on 21 September 2019. He is currently working on a documentary film to give these incredible people a voice and to draw attention to global climate change.

On the trail of climate change at the Great Divide Basin, Wyoming. Florian Reber cycled over 6,000 km through the Rocky Mountains.

Guujaaw was president of the Council of the Haida Nation for many years and was at the forefront of his people’s commitment to protecting their land from deforestation and other natural resources.

View from above: Meandering creek in agricultural land, Colorado.

The Rockies are warming twice as fast as the global average. The impacts are far-reaching.

The consequences of climate change are already extensive

Travelling by bike means experiencing every distinct element of every landscape. You see the changing geography, hear different animals, and notice changes in the flora along the way. From the coastal rainforests in BC, the bizarre calls of the common loon, to the wide-open space and the smell of sagebrush in Montana and Wyoming, forests with miles and miles of dead trees (destroyed by wildfires and the mountain pine-beetle), to the snowy peaks in Colorado and the howls of the Coyotes that keep me up at night. When cycling along the Continental Divide, you do not miss out on any of them…

Native sagebrush grows for miles around the Great Divide Basin, Wyoming. How much longer?

Devastating forest fires in September 2017 destroyed 405 square kilometers of forest in Lolo National Forest, Montana.

Crossing the the continental divide by bike means to spend day and night outside in nature for Florian.

THE EQUIPMENT

Florian decides on a bike from the Swiss manufacturer MTB Cycletech. The RAW model is available as city or off-road version, which speaks for its versatility. This is extremely important for Florian, because he wants to use his bike in everyday life even after this trip. The frame geometry with flat steering angle and short chainstays is well-balanced, the bike is stable and agile at the same time.

 

“I’ve been riding my MTB Cycletech
RAW GP Offroad through these remote
territories. I´ve never regretted the
decision for the RAW with Pinion
gearbox. The bike has never
let me down!”

DISCOVER BIKE

 

The privilege of travelling slowly and simply

Travelling at slow speed, progressing pass-by-pass, day-by-day, unmotorised and with total devotion given to living on a bicycle, enduring wind and weather, and the many unforgettable encounters along the way all contribute to this experience. More so, I now have the feeling that the simplicity of travelling by bike seems to match our mind’s ability to absorb and process our surroundings so deeply that no other way of moving can.

 

 

“Spending so much time outside and engaging on an issue I care about was an incredibly enriching experience. I understand that not everybody likes long-distance cycling, nor has the opportunity to spend several months pedalling in remote areas. But if you have not yet, I would encourage you to try to find your personal way to connect with nature. It might strengthen your commitment to protecting it.” – Florian Reber

 

 

 

 

Learn more about this impressive project!

READ MORE

Long-distance cycling allows us to grasp changing landscapes for what they eventually are – one connected piece of land.

DEM KLIMAWANDEL AUF DER SPUR

Der Schweizer Florian Reber radelte im Sommer 2019 in 71 Tagen 6.300 km durch die Rocky Mountains. Entlang der kontinentalen Wasserscheide im Verlauf von British Columbia nach New Mexico beobachtete und dokumentierte er den Klimawandel. Dies war seine zweite Langstrecken-Radtour im Rahmen des „Tales of Change“-Projekts. Die erste absolvierte er 2018, als er die Alpen von Osten nach Westen überquerte.

Die Rocky Mountains sind ein einzigartiges Naturschauspiel. Viele Amerikaner sind stolz auf diese atemberaubenden Orte, seien es die majestätischen Gletscher oder die Wildnis und die weiten Weiten im Westen der USA. Diese Schauplätze sind Teil der nationalen Identität, Geschichte und Mythen. Und sie sind stark vom Klimawandel betroffen.

Unterwegs trifft Florian Menschen, die den Klimawandel hautnah miterleben. Er lässt sie von ihren Problemen erzählen, aber auch von ihren Lösungen. Sein Projekt hat er unter dem Titel «Tales of Change» dokumentiert.

ZEITZEUGEN BERICHTEN ÜBER DIE KLIMAVERÄNDERUNG

Mit Start in Vancouver, BC folgte Florian den abgelegenen Wegen der Great Divide Mountain Bike Route durch Montana, Wyoming, Colorado und New Mexico. An 71 Tagen auf dem Rad traf er sich unterwegs mit Führern der First Nation, Künstlern, Klima- und Naturwissenschaftlern, Künstlern, Feuerwehrleuten, Bauern und Energieexperten und und filmte während der Interviews die Gespräche mit.

Nach einer Zugfahrt durch die USA führte ihn sein letzter Radtag entlang des Hudson River, um am 21. September 2019 in New York City anzukommen. Aktuell arbeitet er an einem Dokumentarfilm, um diesen unglaublichen Menschen, eine Stimme zu geben und auf den globalen Klimawandel aufmerksam zu machen.

Auf den Spuren des Klimawandels am Great Divide Basin, Wyoming. Florian Reber radelte über 6.000 km durch die Rocky Mountains.

Guujaaw war viele Jahre lang Präsident des Rates der Haida-Nation und stand an der Spitze des Engagements seines Volkes für den Schutz seines Landes vor Abholzung und anderen natürlichen Ressourcen.

Blick von oben: Mäandernder Bach in einem landwirtschaftlichem Nutzgebiet, Colorado.

Die Rocky Mountains erwärmen sich doppelt so schnell wie der globale Durchschnitt. Die Auswirkungen sind schwerwiegend.

Die Folgen des Klimawandels sind bereits weitreichend

Mit dem Fahrrad zu reisen bedeutet, jedes einzelne Element der Landschaft sehr bewußt zu erleben. Man sieht die sich verändernde Geographie, hört verschiedene Tiere und bemerkt Veränderungen in der Flora entlang des Weges. Von den Küstenregenwäldern in BC, den bizarren Rufen des Eistauchers, über die Weite und den Geruch des Salbeis in Montana und Wyoming, Wälder mit kilometerlangen toten Bäumen (die durch Waldbrände und des Borkenkäfers zerstört wurden), bis hin zu den schneebedeckten Gipfeln in Colorado und dem Heulen der Kojoten, das mich nachts wach hält. Wenn man mit dem Fahrrad entlang der kontinentalen Wasserscheide fährt, verpasst man das alles nicht…

Am Great Divide Basin,Wyoming wächst kilometerweit wilder Salbei.
Wie lange noch?

Bei verheerenden Waldbränden im September 2017 wurden 405 qkm Wald im Lolo National Forest, Montana zerstört.

Mit dem Fahrrad die kontinentale Wasserscheide zu überwinden, bedeutet für Florian Tag und Nacht draußen in der Natur zu verbringen.

DAS EQUIPMENT

Florian entscheidet sich für ein Bike der Schweizer Manufaktur MTB Cycletech. Das Modell RAW ist als City- oder Offroad-Variante erhältlich, das spricht für seine Vielseitigkeit. Für Florian ist das extrem wichtig, denn er möchte sein Bike auch nach dieser Reise im Alltag nutzen. Die Rahmengeometrie mit flachem Lenkwinkel und kurzen Kettenstreben ist gutmütig, das Bike stabil und wendig zugleich.

 

„Ich habe mich mit meinem MTB Cycletech
RAW GP Offroad durch diese abgelegenen
Gebiete gekämpft. Die Entscheidung für
das RAW mit Pinion Schaltung habe ich
nie bereut. Das Bike hat mich nie im
Stich gelassen!“

 

BIKE ENTDECKEN

 

Das Privileg, langsam und einfach zu reisen

Langsames Fahren, Vorbeifahren, Tag für Tag, unmotorisiert und mit voller Hingabe dem Leben auf dem Fahrrad gewidmet, Wind und Wetter aushaltend und die vielen unvergesslichen Begegnungen auf dem Weg tragen zu dieser Erfahrung bei. Mehr noch, ich habe jetzt das Gefühl, dass die Einfachheit des Fahrrads mit der Fähigkeit unseres Geistes, unsere Umgebung so tief zu absorbieren und zu verarbeiten, übereinstimmt, wie es keine andere Art der Fortbewegung kann.

 

 

„So viel Zeit im Freien zu verbringen und sich auf ein Thema einzulassen, das mir am Herzen liegt, war eine unglaublich bereichernde Erfahrung. Ich verstehe, dass nicht jeder gerne solche Ultra-Distanzen bestreitet und auch nicht die Möglichkeit hat, mehrere Monate in abgelegenen Gebieten in die Pedale zu treten. Aber wenn Du das noch nicht getan hast, möchte ich Dich ermutigen, Deinen persönlichen Weg zu finden, um mit der Natur in Verbindung zu treten. Das könnte Dein Engagement für den Umweltschutz stärken.“ – Florian Reber

 

 

 

 

Erfahre mehr über dieses beeindruckende Projekt!

MEHR LESEN

Das Fernradfahren ermöglicht es uns, wechselnde Landschaften als das zu begreifen, was sie letztendlich sind - ein zusammenhängendes Stück Land.