Zerode Taniwha with Pinion P1.12 stirs up the Enduro circus!

At the Eurobike in 2016, the New Zealand bike manufacturer Zerode launched the Taniwha – a Carbon-Fully with Pinion gearbox for Enduro use. The Kiwi underdog caused furore at press representatives, industry experts and in the Enduro scene not least because of its absolutely successful system integration. The pinkbike readers voted the Taniwha to one of the top innovations of the the leading international trade fair Eurobike.

The launch had succeeded in attracting interest. But besides all of them, theoretical data on the paper and the outstanding optics is conclusive, but the decisive factor is how the bike can be used in practice! How does it affect “the weight between the feet”? How does shifting work and how are the proclaimed advantages of the encapsulated gearbox systems actually noticeable?

 

Zerode Taniwha at the Enduro Mountainbike Magazin

The guys from the Enduro mountain bike magazine have checked the carbon rocket with our P1.12 gearbox in details and kicked it ruthlessly through the Scottish Highlands. The result was an absolutely readable article. At the beginning of the detailed report, test editor Trevor Worsey asked “Is the Zerode Taniwha the next revolution in mountain biking?” and he objectively proved the facts to be examined.

 

“Is the Zerode Taniwha the next revolution in mountain biking?”

 

The experienced editor is impressed by the trail performance of the Taniwha:” Freed from controlling the weight of a monster cassette and derailleur, the rear suspension sticks to the ground like velcro to a blanket. Late-braking, wide-open charges, and flat-out hooligan hucks into rock gardens are where the Taniwha gets down to business. You can hammer into a turn with the balance of a ballet dancer, slam it over, then scream like a child as you are fired out the other side at a ridiculous speed. All in complete silence. Not a rattle or clang… it’s like witchcraft. If a quiet bike is a fast bike, then the Taniwa is operating at warp factor nine. The lightweight swingarm chatters rapidly away behind you, noiselessly mopping up hits regardless of size.

t´s the prevailing opinion that the Pinion gearbox is heavier than conventional drivetrains. Trevor Worsey says: “ Yes, the gearbox is heavier, but removing a 600 g lump of cassette and derailleurs from the rear wheel allows the suspension to react faster and with more control. Moving weight from the unsprung rear axle to instead sit inside the bottom bracket makes perfect engineering sense, putting the centre of mass where it should be and improving balance.”

"The lightweight swingarm chatters rapidly away behind you, noiselessly mopping up hits regardless of size."

Compared to existing drivetrains and hub gears, Pinion offers the widest bandwidth on the market, which is also evident in the hard Enduro use and positively noticeable. Rapid downhill runs and steep uphill sections require rapid shifting to the right gear. “ When it comes to range, the 12-speed P1.12 gearbox of the Zerode Taniwha is king: it´s 600% range is enough to leave any 1x drivetrain cowering in the shadows, even the mighty Eagle” says Trevor Worsey.

Two points are an important feature of the pinion gearbox: Toughness and low maintenance. From the Scottish weather, which is well-known for its tendentially wet conditions, and its special requirements for men and machine, the Taniwha showed itself completely unimpressed: “ On muddy trails, however, the fully sealed gearbox really kicks ass, delivering precise shifting and silky smooth operation while conventional derailleurs crunch and grind in protest. 

“Changing through the twelve speeds while stationary is nothing short of voodoo: silent and instant, with a mechanical precision that is more Porsche than Volkswagen. Gears can be shifted one at a time, or dumped right through the range using the GripShift shifter!” For Trigger-lovers “at first this feels unfamiliar and requires thought, but after a few rides’ practice, shifting gears becomes instinctive.”

"The 600% range of the P1.12 is enough to leave any 1x drivetrain cowering in the shadows, even the mighty Eagle”

REVIEW ENDURO MAGAZINE

Photocredit: Trevor Worsey

Das Zerode Taniwha mit Pinion P1.12 mischt die Enduro-Szene auf!

Zur Eurobike 2016 stellte die neuseeländische Bikeschmiede Zerode mit dem Taniwha ein Carbon-Fully mit Pinion Getriebe für den Enduro-Einsatz vor. Der tennisballgelbe Exot sorgte bei Pressevertretern, Branchenkennern und in der Enduro-Szene nicht zuletzt wegen seiner für absolut gelungenen Systemintegration für Aufsehen und wurde von den pinkbike-Lesern zu einer der Top-Innovationen der internationalen Leitmesse Eurobike gewählt. Die Markteinführung war gelungen, das Interesse geweckt. Doch neben all den theoretischen Daten auf dem Papier und der herausragenden Optik ist schlußendlich doch entscheidend, wie sich das Bike in der Praxis bewährt.

Wie wirkt sich der zentrale Schwerpunkt auf das Fahrverhalten aus? Wie funktioniert das Schalten mittels Drehgriff und wie machen sich die proklamierten Vorzüge des gekapselten Systems tatsächlich bemerkbar?

Zerode Taniwha im Test beim Enduro Mountainbike Magazin

Das Enduro Mountainbike Magazin hat dem Carbon-Fully mit unserer P1.12 Schaltung intensiv auf den Zahn gefühlt und es schonungslos durch die Schottischen Highlands gejagt. Heraus kam ein absolut lesenswerter Artikel. Zu Beginn der ausführlichen Berichterstattung stellt Testredakteur Trevor Worsey die Frage “Ist das Zerode Taniwha die nächste Revolution im Mountainbiken?” und arbeitet sich sachlich objektiv durch die zu überprüfenden Fakten.

 

“Ist das Zerode Taniwha die nächste Revolution im Mountainbiken?”

Von dem Fahrverhalten ist der erfahrene Tester beeindruckt und berichtet “von der sprichwörtlichen Last befreit, Kassette und Schaltwerk ausgleichen zu müssen, klebt das Fahrwerk am Boden wie Kaugummi in den Haaren. Spätes Bremsen, zerschossene Kurven und Gewaltritte durch Steinfelder sind genau das Richtige für das Taniwha. Elegant wie ein Eiskunstläufer gleitet ihr mit ihm durch Kurven, […] und all das völlig lautlos. Kein Rasseln oder Klappern, es ist wie Zauberei. Wenn ein leises Bike ein schnelles ist, ist das Taniwha mit Überschall unterwegs. Der leichte Hinterbau arbeitet super feinfühlig und frisst jedes Hindernis […] und ist in flowigen Kurven herrlich ausbalanciert.”

Seit jeher eilt dem Pinion-Getriebe der Ruf voraus, schwerer als herkömmliche Kettenschaltungen zu sein. Trevor Worsey sagt: “Klar ist das Getriebe schwerer, aber wenn man die 600 g Gewicht –bestehend aus Schaltwerk und Kassette – vom Hinterrad entfernt, kann das Fahrwerk schneller, leiser und kontrollierter reagieren. Die Wegnahme von Gewicht an der ungefederten Hinterachse und die Verlagerung über das Tretlager sind absolut sinnvolle Schritte, da man dadurch den Schwerpunkt noch zentraler setzt und die Balance des Bikes verbessert.”

"Der leichte Hinterbau arbeitet super feinfühlig und frisst jedes Hindernis"

Im Vergleich zu bestehenden Ketten- und Nabenschaltungen, bietet Pinion die größte Übersetzungsbandbreite auf dem Markt, was sich natürlich auch im harten Enduro-Einsatz positiv bemerkbar macht. Rasante Abfahrten und knackige Gegenanstiege erfordern rasche Wechsel in den richtigen Gang. “Was die Übersetzung angeht, spielt die 12-Gang Pinion Getriebeschaltung mit 600% Bandbreite in der Königsklasse und läßt jede 1-fach Kettenschaltung blaß erscheinen, selbst die allmächtige Sram Eagle!”, urteilt Trevor Worsey.

Ein Herausstellungsmerkmal der Pinion Zentralgetriebeschaltung sind die Punkte Robustheit und geringer Wartungsaufwand. Vom schottischen Wetter, das für seine tendenziell nassen Bedingungen bekannt ist, und an Mensch und Material besondere Anforderungen stellt, zeigte sich das Taniwha gänzlich unbeeindruckt: “Bei matschigen Bedingungen geht die vollständig gekapselte Gearbox richtig ab und bietet präzise und butterweiche Performance, während herkömmliche Schaltungen vor Protest knirschen und knarzen”, so der Testredakteur.
Das Zerode Taniwha hinterließ beim Enduro Mountainbike Magazin einen nachhaltig-positiven Eindruck.

Über das Schaltverhalten der Pinion berichtet er, dass das Schalten mittels Drehgriff “einer kurzen Umgewöhnung bedarf”, dies nach kurzer Zeit aber nach ein paar Ausfahrten kein Thema mehr sei. “Die mechanische Präzision mit der selbst im Stand durch die 12 Gänge geschaltet werden kann, sei wie Voodoo-Zauberei.

"DAS P1.12 mit 600% Bandbreite lässt selbst die scheinbar allmächtige SRAM Eagle blass erscheinen"

REVIEW ENDURO MAGAZINE

Photocredit: Trevor Worsey